Find us @


Tom Izzo and Michigan State agree on a new five-year contract that Tom could become the head coach for life

James Izzo, 67, will sign a deal worth $6.2 million annually as he prepares for his 28th season as Michigan State’s coach.



Non-performance related compensation for Izzo totals $5.92 million annually over the course of his five-year rollover contract, which breaks down as follows: a $2.43 million base (up from an initial $430K base on his 2018 contract), $3.09 million in supplemental compensation, and $400 thousand from footwear and apparel provider Nike. There is an annual compensation package value of about $6.2 million, which includes the use of a private jet and other perks.

After 40 years at Michigan State, “I’m excited to sign this contract because Michigan State has been home to me and my family.” — Tom Izzo. “We have worked very hard to keep the level of play at a championship level, and I am as excited to coach now as I was when I first took the job in 1995. It would be difficult to find a school with more success in men’s basketball and football over the past 10-12 seasons, thanks to the efforts of coaches Mark Dantonio and Mel Tucker. For both of our programs and the rest of the division, I am confident that the best is yet to come.”

The 67-year-old Izzo is returning for his 28th season as Michigan State’s head coach, and he’s doing it at a time when the program he helped create is experiencing a renaissance thanks in large part to his efforts. In the 2023 cycle, the Spartans have been on fire in terms of recruiting, with three commitments from top-100 recruits coming in just the last two weeks. They have the best recruiting class in the Big Ten and are third in the country behind only Duke and Kentucky.

Since 1995, when Izzo became head coach, Michigan State men’s basketball has gone undefeated in the Big Ten regular season, won six Big Ten tournament titles, and won the national championship. In addition to compiling a career record of 666-267, he has also guided the Spartans to eight Final Fours and been named national coach of the year on eight separate occasions.